Skip to content Skip to navigation

Scientific Secretariat

Lorena Bencina (Head)

Emanuele Tuillier Illingworth (Guest and events team Main contact person)

Federica Tuniz (Mission Team Main contact person)

Elisa Bosdachin

Teodora Cosmidis

Sara Greblo

Cristina Grillo

Nadia Pugiotto


Lecture room booking: If you require a room for seminars/conferences etc please contact


The Scientific Secretariat is made up of 5 teams.
You can find the details of the teams and our contacts below:


Delivery & Goods

(Elisa Bosdachin, Teodora Cosmidis, Sara Greblo,  Lorena Bencina)

- Area institutional purchase delivery

- Area institutional purchase reimbursement via fondo economale

- Administrative opening and closing of cognitive neuroscience studies.


Scientific Trips - Italy and abroad

(Federica Tuniz, Teodora Cosmidis, Sara Greblo, Cristina Grillo, Nadia Pugiotto)

When you are required to perform institutional activities elsewhere other than SISSA, such as to attend a conference, take part in scientific collaboration, Summer school and such like, we can help you to obtain reimbursement for your expenses.

The online form is available, together with the rules and guidelines on the webpage:
Our offices are situated on the first floor, please do not hesitate if you need to talk to any member of the team:
Room 103 - Teodora Cosmidis (tel.609) and Cristina Grillo (tel.210)
Room 105 - Sara Greblo (tel.597)
Room 106 - Federica Tuniz (tel.456)


Management of guests and conferences/events of the scientific areas of SISSA

(Emanuele Tuillier Illingworth, Sara Greblo, Cristina Grillo, Nadia Pugiotto)
For further details please refer to the following documents:
If you are planning to invite a guest with reimbursements/facilities, please remember that it is required to open the online invitation form in our GRS 10 days before the guest arrival at the latest
Whenever an extra-EU guest is asking for a letter of invitation for visa purposes, you are pleased to get in touch with us. We will take care of preparing the letter. Please do not write the letter yourself!
If you are planning to organize a conference, please remember that it is requested to register the event in our Conference Planning 3 months before the beginning of the conference at the latest


Scientific Areas Governing boards (Lorena Bencina, Cristina Grillo) (Elisa Bosdachin, Lorena Bencina) (Federica Tuniz, Emanuele Tuillier Illingworth)

We take care of the governing bodies of the scientific areas of SISSA (Area Council and Giunta), by supporting Area and Phd Coordinators for:
- convocation of meetings
- definition of topics
- drafting of minutes
- transmission of topics to the governing bodies
- filing of minutes


Scientific Areas Budget

(Lorena Bencina, Elisa Bosdachin, Teodora Cosmidis, Emanuele Tuillier Illingworth)

We take care of the budget of Scientific Areas, Area Research Groups including Labs:
- assistance in the planning of expenses and budgeting
- support to the management of the budget assigned by SISSA to the Scientific Areas and updates on the availability of funds during the year
(Please note that the Project Management Office,, is the reference for grants)



*Area Coordinator: prof Stefano Liberati
*Area Deputy Coordinator: prof Stefano de Gironcoli
PhD Courses (Research Groups)
*Astrophysics and Cosmology: Coordinator prof Andrea Lapi, Deputy Coordinator prof Carlo Baccigalupi
*Astroparticle Physics: Coordinator prof Matteo Viel, Deputy Coordinator prof Piero Ullio
*Theoretical Particle Physics: Coordinator prof Giulio Bonelli, Deputy Coordinator prof Andrea Romanino
*Statistical Physics: Coordinatoe prof Andrea Gambassi, Deputy Coordinator prof  Pasquale Calabrese
*Physics and Chemistry of Biological Systems (Research Group: Molecular and statistical Biophysics): Coordinator prof Giovanni Bussi, Deputy Coordinator prof Alessandro Laio
*Theory and Numerical Simulation of Condensed Matter (Research Group: Condensed Matter): Coordinator prof Giuseppe Santoro, Deputy Coordinator prof Stefano de Gironcoli


*Area Coordinator: prof Gianluigi Rozza
*Area Deputy Coordinator: prof Gianni Dal Maso
PhD Courses
*Mathematical Analysis Modelling, and Applications: Coordinator prof Massimiliano Berti, Deputy Coordinator prof Giovanni Noselli
*Fisica Matematica e Geometria: Coordinator prof Antonio Lerario, Deputy Coordinator prof. Marcello Porta
NB. Mathematics Area is made up of three Research Groups:
- Mathematical Analysis: Responsible prof Nicola Gigli
- Geometry and Mathematical Physics: Responsible prof Marcello Porta
- SISSA MathLab: Responsible prof Gianluigi Rozza


*Area Coordinator: prof Antonio Mallamaci
*Area Deputy Coordinator: prof Paul Heppenstall
PhD Courses
*Cognitive Neuroscience: Coordinator prof Davide Crepaldi
*Neurobiology: Coordinator prof Anna Menini
*Functional and Structural Genomics: Coordinator prof Remo Sanges
*Molecular Biology (Jumbo): prof Giuseppe Legname
NB. Neuroscience Area is made of three Research Groups::
- Cognitive Neuroscience: Responsible prof Davide Crepaldi
- Neurobiologia: Responsible  prof Anna Menini
- Genomics and Molecular Biology: Responsible prof. Remo Sanges