Prizes / Awards

The doctoral courses and research projects are coordinated by scientists of international prestige.

Examples of honorary degrees from renowned foreign universities:

  • Antonio Ambrosetti, honorary degree from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid 2005; 
  • Jacques Mehler honorary doctoral degree from the Utrecht University 2010, Doctor Honoris Causa, Université Libre de Bruxelles, 1997; 
  • John Nicholls, honorary degree in Neuroscience from the University of Trieste; 
  • Tim Shallice honorary degree from the Universitè Libre di Bruxelles, Trinity College Dublin and London Guildhall University

Example of scientific prizes:

  • Andrei Agrachev Soviet Academy of Sciences Award in Mathematics 1989;
  • Antonio Ambrosetti Caccioppoli Prize 1985, Chaire Lagrange 1991, Catedra Fondation BBV Madrid 1998, Catedra Iberdrola, Madrid, 2001, Ferran Sunyer i Balaguer Prize 2005, Luigi Amerio Prize 2007;
  • Fouzia Bano Borsellino Prize in Biophysics 2010;
  • Matteo Bertolini Le Scienze Prize 2005;
  • Stefano Bianchini Medal for Mathematics, awarded by the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL 2004, Ems Prize 2004, The SIAG/Analysis of Partial Differential Equations Prize 2007, Vinti Prize of the Italian Mathematical Society 2007
  • Andrea Brini, Anile Prize 2011
  • Antonino Cattaneo Luigi Tartufari Prize for Biology 2008;
  • Pierluigi Cesana INDAM-SIMAI 2010 prize;
  • Gianni Dal Maso Caccioppoli Prize, awarded by the Italian Mathematical Union (1991), Medal for Mathematics, awarded by the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL (1996), Prize of the Minister for the Cultural Heritage for Mathematics and Mechanics, awarded by the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (2003) and Luigi and Wanda Amerio Prize, awarded by the Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere (2005);
  • Antonio De Simone Keith Medal 2007, Prize for Research 2010;
  • Stefano Fantoni Eugene Feenberg Prize 2007;
  • Davide Forcella Fubini Prize 2009;
  • Stefano Liberati e Stefano Finazzi Prize 2009 FQXI, Foundational Questions Institute;
  • Andrea Malchiodi, Carlo Miranda Prize 2005, Caccioppoli Prize 2006, Sunyer y Balaguer Prize 2005 and FIRB Grant “Analysis and Beyond” (2009-2013);
  • Davide Marenduzzo Young Scientist Award 2010;
  • Aurora Meroni Fubini Prize 2013-2014;
  • Andrea Mondino Benedetto Sciarra Prize 2010;
  • Jacques Mehler Mente e Cervello Prize 2009, Ipsen Foundation Prize (Neuronal Plasticity) 1995, French Academy of Sciences Prize (Prix Fanny Emden) 1988
  • Michela Mapelli Tacchini Prize 2007 and Gratton Prize 2007;
  • John Nicholls Education in Neuroscience Prize 2010;
  • Serguey Petcov The 2010 Bruno Pontecorvo Prize for "Fundamental contribution to the investigations of neutrino propagation in matter; mu-egamma, mu-3e processes and Majorana properties of neutrino";
  • Olga Puccioni Award ‘Early Career Stimulus’ from the European Society for Cognitive Psychology (ESCoP) 2011;
  • Raffaella Rumiati Women In Cognitive Science Mentorship Award 2006, Bessel Prize by the van Humboldt Foundation, 2003;
  • Giacinto Scoles Franklin Medal 2006;
  • Tim Shallice President's Award of the British Psychological Society 1992, Aizenberg Prize of the Rotman Research Institute in Toronto 2000;
  • Erio Tosatti Tate Medal for Physics 2005;
  • Antonino Vallesi Paul Bertelson Award from the European Society for Cognitive Psychology (ESCoP) 2010

Some SISSA professors have received prestigious scientific distinctions:

  • Andrei Agrachev invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians ICM-94 in Zuerich, Member of the Nevanlinna Prize Committee of the International Mathematical Union for ICM-2002 in Beijing China, Panel core member of the International Mathematical Union for ICM-2010 in Hyderabad India
  • Daniele Amati fellow of the Accademia delle Scienze Argentina
  • Antonio Ambrosetti fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, fellow of the Istituto Veneto di Lettere Scienze ed Arti, fellow of the European Academy of Sciences, fellow of the Accademia delle Scienze di Torino
  • Stefano Baroni fellow of the American Physical Society
  • Loriano Bonora Visiting Professor YITP in Kyoto
  • Enrico Cherubini President of the Italian Neuroscience Society
  • Gianni Dal Maso fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei; fellow of the Istituto Veneto di Lettere Scienze ed Arti
  • Mathew Diamond European Research Council Advanced Grants panel, Life Sciences (2008-2012)
  • Alessandro Laio Director of the node of CECAM (Centre Européen de Calcul Atomique et Moléculaire)
  • Guido Martinelli fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
  • Jacques Mehler fellow of the American Philosophical Society, Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences 2001, member Academia Europaea, 1989
  • Anna Menini President Ecro - European Chemoreception Research Organization
  • Cristian Micheletti, member executive board of "Division of Physics in Life Sciences" European Physical Society
  • John Nicholls fellow of The Royal Society
  • Serguey Petcov Scientific Associate Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Associate Member IPMU, University of Tokyo, Honorary title "Visiting Professor" of University of Durham
  • Tim Shallice fellow of the Royal Society of London 1996, fellow of University College of London, fellow of the Academia Europea, 1996, fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, 1998, Initial American Psychological Society International Fellow 2001, Honorary Member Experimental Psychology Society 2004
  • Erio Tosatti fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences, socio corrispondente non residente dell'Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere (Sezione Chimica e Fisica)
  • Alessandro Treves Member of Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters, Research Grant Rewiev Panel of the Human Frontier Science Programme (2006-2010), associate editor for the Journal of Neuroscience



Please click here if you want to subscribe to our newsletter